Customer IDs should not be changed after a new customer has been approved.
If you wish to change the Customer ID, it needs to be changed prior to approving the customer and making the customer active.
Changing the Customer ID will delete all the items in the customers product list.
Ensure you change the ID before creating the customer product list.
If you want to change a customers ID then download their product list first from Customer | import/export | product list